Blog #6 — Technology and Sports

After watching the 100th Grey Cup, I couldn’t help wondering how technology has changed the face of sports.  In today’s game we waited many minutes while a catch was reviewed by a panel of officials somewhere observing every possible angle.  I recall TSN saying they had 32 possible camera angles to share with them, if need be.  In the end, the call on the field stood.  There was not enough visual evidence to overturn the call.

Not only has technology changed the way the game is officiated, it has also changed how we watch it.  We have our 52 inch high definition TV’s that almost make it inconvenient to actually go to the game.  Why sit in the cold, heat or rain, when you can watch it in all of its detail at home.  But… of course we all know there is nothing like being at the game.  The atmosphere cannot be replaced by any technology….except… now you can watch close up details on the jumbotron!  Sometimes, even when I’m in good seats I find myself taking in the game on the screen instead of on the turf.  I honestly have to force myself to watch the real action.  Perhaps I’m drawn by the pretty lights just as a moth is drawn to a bug zapper….  but I digress.

Social media has had an impact on the game as well.  Sometimes, when I am busy cooking chicken wings or deep frying anything that is battered, I press pause on my PVR.  I don’t have to miss any of the action.  But, I have to be very careful not to go on Facebook or Twitter at any time until I catch up and am watching in real time.  There’s always a bunch of my friends who are busy commenting and analysing during the game; Even if they are in the stands!

From fantasy football to buying your tickets, technology has most definitely changed the face of sports.

For an interesting take on sports and technology click here.

 

Picture credit:  http://plug-in.bestbuy.ca/t5/Visit-the-Plug-in-Blog/100th-Grey-Cup-Celebrate-in-Style/ba-p/53434

 

3 responses to “Blog #6 — Technology and Sports”

  1. Carole Jones says :

    Hi Karen, Thanks for the timely blog topic. I enjoyed reading your take on the game and the way we watch it. From reading your use of PVR’s I think you might connect with Kevin’s blog post on media.
    This was an interesting Grey Cup. I followed our mayor, Naheed Nenshi, on Twitter and received regular texts from my husband, both of whom were in Toronto for the game. I felt more connected to the real action of the celebrations as a result of hearing about and seeing their experiences. I also chose to miss the second half of the game and go to my nephew’s Christmas Spectacular performance. I knew that the Stamps would not notice I was not watching and that my nephew would definitely know I was there to see him. I admit to texting my husband (during the show’s intermission) to check on the game – of course, my mother’s insistence that I find out the score had an impact on me. Thanks for sharing your view of technology and of sports.

  2. Greg Luterbach says :

    Hi Karen

    Originally I struggled to understand why stadiums were investing in providing wireless coverage throughout the facility. I thought .. “hey, you are paying good money to watch the event live and in person” but what I’ve realized is that technology can fill in all the gaps in the event. People can comment to their personal network their take on the ‘official’ reporting of the event. They can use the technology to find out what was going on in section 201 when there seemed to be a ruckus. They can look up what team that number 17 played for before the Argos. They can share their opinion on that penalty. They can see what the world is commenting on as it happens.

    Technology is able to empower people to share their story and in doing so come closer together.

    Now … if we can do this in a stadium while paying $200 to watch the game why cannot kids do this in the classroom?

    Greg L

  3. Pam Baji says :

    I was surprised and pleased when you said you watch the screen, even when you are at a live event because I do that too! Maybe it’s the pretty lights as you indicate or maybe we are just so accustomed to the screen that we’ve trained ourselves to view from that vantage point and revert to type when there’s a screen in view.

    Enjoyable reading Karen!

Leave a Reply

